The Churches

The Route of the 6 churches

Carona has a rich variety of six churches worth seeing.

The "sentiero delle 6 chiese" (route oft he 6 churches) is therfore highly recommended. The path begins at the Parish Church of San Salvatore and ends at the surprisingly sparkling Monastery of Santa Maria di Torello.

 

Il sentiero delle 6 chiese:

 

1: Parish Church of San Salvatore

In 1213, the Bishop of Como sold his property in Ciona and the mountain formerly called "Bellenio" to the Chapter of S. Lorenzo in Lugano. On the summit there was already a small chapel dedicated to S. Salvatore (hence the name). Soon it was transformed into a small church. On the occasion of the feast of the Ascension in 1680, the Chapter of S. Lorenzo ceded the church and the summit to the Confraternity of S. Marta and Buona Morte. In 1703, the Brotherhood decided to demolish the original church and build a new one. In 1718, the work was completed. The history of the last two centuries is rich in news about the many interventions that involved the Brotherhood and the Funicular Management in their respective roles as owners and managers of the place. The Funicular was put into service in 1890, the Lightning Research Centre in 1943 and the installation of the television and radio antennas of the PTT in 1969. Finally, in 1999, the two organisations created the San Salvatore Museum, and the Confraternity was able to enrich and embellish the church on the summit. In 1900 the installation of the large iron cross, a historical testimony of this mountain which is continuously interpreted by the Funicular Management and the presence of the Confraternity of S. Marta and Buona Morte.

 

2: Capella della Madonna delle Grazie (Ciona). 16th century chapel.

The today whitewashed facade was originally painted. The decoration was commissioned by Bishop Francesco Bonesana between 1579 and 1597. The work was completed in 1597, as the files show. Today only the sundial and a stucco decoration above the portal can be seen, where in an oval frame there may have been a picture of the Madonna whose name the church bears.

 

3: Parish Church of San Giorgio. Built in the 15th century, choir with fresco "The Last Judgement" by Domenico Pezzi

The church was first mentioned in 1425, when Pope Martin the Fifth decreed its separation from the collegiate church of San Lorenzo in Lugano and elevated it to a parish church. Today it appears essentially the same as in the 16th and 17th centuries. In the last quarter of the 16th century some changes were made to adapt the church to the orders of the Counter-Reformation Council of Trento. The council was concluded in 1563. It was then demanded that church buildings and their works of art radiated special decency and dignity. As a result, during these years the bishop's see gave instructions to renovate the church and to reward various workshops for their work. The official consecration of the church did not take place until 14 May 1698. This was carried out by Francesco Bonesana, Bishop of Como, as the inscription on the architrave of the portal testifies and as it is also confirmed in a document of the episcopal archive in Lugano.

 

4: Fraternity Church of Santa Marta. Built in the Middle Ages, frescoes from 1486.

The church dates from very ancient times and it is thought to be an original Roman building dedicated to St. Paul. At the end of the 17th century the church was rebuilt. The new building was completed in 1709. The church façade on the right shows the remains of a fresco of St. Christopher, who was often depicted as the protector of travellers and pilgrims at churches and chapels, where the visitor immediately saw him.

 

5: Madonna d'Ongero. Built in 17th century stucco by A. Casella 1646-1648, frescoes by Antonio Petrini

The Santuario della Madonna d`Onero is a small masterpiece of Baroque art. The church was built between 1624 and 1640 on the foundations of a small chapel from 1515, which contained a miraculous image of Our Lady of Loreto. This picture was found according to popular belief by a deaf-mute girl, who could speak again immediately afterwards.

Hermann Hesse wrote a story about this church. Click here and read about it:

Feast of the Madonna d'Ongero

Text by Hermann Hesse from 1924

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

6: Convent of Santa Maria Assunta di Torello. Built and donated in 1217 by Bishop Guglielmo della Torre of Como, it is now privately owned. Romantic building with frescos from the 13th century.

The solemn consecration of the church took place in 1217 in the presence of the bishop. Monks of the Augustinian Order moved into the monastery, which soon ruled over vast areas of the surrounding land: in Grancia it had a grain warehouse, and the monastery also had lands in Carabbia, Pazzallo, Figino and Bioggio. This income secured the livelihood of the monastic community. Convention 1389 was abolished by papal decree.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Excerpts from the art guide

"Carona - its artists, its art monuments".

You can buy this art guide in the village

or directly at Pro Carona, the tourist office

on Carona, via email.(info@procarona.ch)

Chiesa Santa Marta 2.jpeg
Chiesa San Salvatore Carona 2.jpg
Chiesa San Salvatore Carona 1.jpg
Madonna d'Ongero Pellegrinaggio.jpg
Madonna d'Ongero 3.jpg
Chiesa parrocchiale di San Giorgio2 Carona.jpg
San Giorgio 3.jpg
Chiesa San Marta2.png
Oratorio Santa Maria Grazie Ciona.jpg
Chiesa Ciona 2.png
Torello.jpeg
Torello 2.jpg
1/14

Les églises de Carona

Le sentier des 6 églises

Carona compte une riche diversité de six églises attrayantes.

Nous vous recommandons vivement le « Sentiero delle 6 chiese » (sentier des 6 églises). Le parcours commence à l'église paroissiale de San Salvatore et se termine par le surprenant et splendide monastère de Santa Maria di Torello.

 

Le sentier des 6 églises :

 

1. L'église paroissiale de San Salvatore

En 1213, l'évêque de Côme, vendit ses biens à Ciona et la montagne anciennement appelée "Bellenio" au chapitre de S. Lorenzo à Lugano. Sur le sommet, il y avait déjà une petite chapelle dédiée à S. Salvatore (d'où le nom). Bientôt elle fut transformée en une petite église. A l'occasion de la fête de l'Ascension en 1680, le chapitre de S. Lorenzo céda l'église et le sommet à la confrérie de S. Marta et Buona Morte. En 1703, la Confrérie décide de démolir l'église d'origine et d'en construire une nouvelle. En 1718, les travaux sont achevés. L'histoire des deux derniers siècles est riche en nouvelles qui nous parlent des nombreuses interventions qui ont impliqué la Confrérie et la Direction du Funiculaire dans leurs rôles respectifs de propriétaires et de gestionnaires du lieu. Le Funiculaire a été mis en service EN 1890, le Centre de recherche sur la foudre en 1943 et l'installation des antennes de télévision et de radio des PTT en 1969. Enfin, en 1999, les deux organisations ont créé le musée San Salvatore, la Confrérie a su enrichir et embellir l'église du sommet. En 1900 la pose de la grande croix de fer, témoignage historique de cette montagne qui est continuellement interprété par la Direction du Funiculaire et la présence de la Confrérie de S. Marta et Buona Morte.

 

 

2. La chapelle de la Madonna delle Grazie (Ciona). Chapelle du 16ème siècle.

Les façades, aujourd’hui blanchies à la chaux étaient à l’époque peintes. Les décorations et les peintures datent des années 1579-1597. Elles avaient été commandées par l'évêque Francesco Bonesana. Les travaux, selon les documents de l’époque, ont été achevés en 1597. Aujourd'hui, on ne distingue plus que le cadran solaire et une décoration en stuc au-dessus du portail, où une image peut-être dans un cadre ovale, qui a probablement représenté la Vierge, nom que porte aujourd’hui la chapelle.

3. L'église paroissiale de San Giorgio érigée au 15ème siècle avec la fresque chorale « Le jugement dernier »
de Domenico Pezzi.

Cette église a été mentionnée pour la première fois en 1425, lorsque le pape Martin V a décrété sa séparation de l’église collégiale de San Lorenzo à Lugano. Elle obtint alors le statut d’église paroissiale. Aujourd'hui elle a sensiblement la même apparence qu’aux 16e et 17e siècles. Au cours du dernier quart du 16e siècle, quelques modifications ont été apportées pour adapter cette église aux ordres du Concile « contre-réforme » de Trente. Le Concile s’est achevé en 1563. Ensuite on exigeât des églises et de l’art qui y était représenté une certaine décence et de la dignité. L'Evêché donna donc des instructions aux différents corps de métiers dans ces années pour rénover l'église. La consécration officielle de l'église eu lieu que le 14 mai 1698 par l’évêque de Côme, Francesco Bonesana, comme en témoigne l'inscription sur l'architrave du portail et comme confirmé par un document des archives épiscopales de Lugano.

 

4. L’église de la Fraternité de Santa Marta. Edifiée à l'époque médiévale, fresques de 1486.

L'église remonte à des temps très anciens et on croit que la première église était d’architecture romane et dédiée à Saint Paul. A la fin du 17ème siècle, l'église fut entièrement reconstruite. Le nouveau bâtiment a été achevé en 1709. Vous découvrirez immédiatement, sur la façade droite de l’église, les restes d'une fresque de Saint Christophe, qui était souvent représenté comme le protecteur des voyageurs et des pèlerins de toutes les églises et chapelles.

5. Le sanctuaire de la Madonna d'Ongero datant du 17ème siècle.

Ouvrages en stuc de A. Casella 1646-1648, fresques d’Antonio Petrini

Le Sanctuaire de la Madonna d'Ongero est un petit chef-d'œuvre de l'art baroque. L'église a été construite entre 1624 et 1640 sur le site d'une petite chapelle de l'année 1515, contenant une extraordinaire image de la Sainte Vierge de Loreto. Cette image représente la croyance populaire d’une fille sourde-muette qui miraculeusement pouvait à nouveau parler.

Hermann Hesse a écrit une histoire sur cette église.

Lien sur le texte original :« Madonnafest in der Madonna d’Ongero

Texte en allemand d’Hermann Hesse écrit 1924 »

 

 

 

 

6: Le monastère de Santa Maria Assunta di Torello
Edifié en 1217 par l'évêque de Côme, Guglielmo della Torre qui l’a ensuite cédé, il est aujourd'hui de propriété privée. Construction romane avec des fresques du 13ème siècle.

L'inauguration de l'église a eu lieu en 1217 en présence de l'évêque. Les moines de l'ordre des Augustins emménagèrent dans le monastère, et régnèrent bientôt sur de vastes étendues de la campagne environnante : à Grancia ils possédaient un grenier, et avait aussi les terres à Carabbia, Pazzallo, Figino et Bioggio. Ces revenus garantissaient le gagne-pain de la communauté du monastère. En 1389, un décret papal décidât de la suppression du couvent.

 

Les textes sus-mentionnés ont été extraits du guide d’art
"Carona - ses artistes, ses monuments".

Ce guide peut être acheté chez les commerçants de Carona
où directement en le commandant à L’office de tourisme local :
Pro Carona (Info@procarona.c

L'église San Giorgio Carona

Vue aérienne

1/14

Chiesa Santa Marta 2.jpeg
Chiesa San Salvatore Carona 2.jpg
Chiesa San Salvatore Carona 1.jpg
Madonna d'Ongero Pellegrinaggio.jpg
Madonna d'Ongero 3.jpg
Chiesa parrocchiale di San Giorgio2 Carona.jpg
San Giorgio 3.jpg
Chiesa San Marta2.png
Oratorio Santa Maria Grazie Ciona.jpg
Chiesa Ciona 2.png
Torello.jpeg
Torello 2.jpg
1/14