The Churches

The Route of the 6 churches

Carona has a rich variety of six churches worth seeing.

The "sentiero delle 6 chiese" (route oft he 6 churches) is therfore highly recommended. The path begins at the Parish Church of San Salvatore and ends at the surprisingly sparkling Monastery of Santa Maria di Torello.

 

Il sentiero delle 6 chiese:

 

1: Parish Church of San Salvatore

In 1213, the Bishop of Como sold his property in Ciona and the mountain formerly called "Bellenio" to the Chapter of S. Lorenzo in Lugano. On the summit there was already a small chapel dedicated to S. Salvatore (hence the name). Soon it was transformed into a small church. On the occasion of the feast of the Ascension in 1680, the Chapter of S. Lorenzo ceded the church and the summit to the Confraternity of S. Marta and Buona Morte. In 1703, the Brotherhood decided to demolish the original church and build a new one. In 1718, the work was completed. The history of the last two centuries is rich in news about the many interventions that involved the Brotherhood and the Funicular Management in their respective roles as owners and managers of the place. The Funicular was put into service in 1890, the Lightning Research Centre in 1943 and the installation of the television and radio antennas of the PTT in 1969. Finally, in 1999, the two organisations created the San Salvatore Museum, and the Confraternity was able to enrich and embellish the church on the summit. In 1900 the installation of the large iron cross, a historical testimony of this mountain which is continuously interpreted by the Funicular Management and the presence of the Confraternity of S. Marta and Buona Morte.

 

2: Capella della Madonna delle Grazie (Ciona). 16th century chapel.

The today whitewashed facade was originally painted. The decoration was commissioned by Bishop Francesco Bonesana between 1579 and 1597. The work was completed in 1597, as the files show. Today only the sundial and a stucco decoration above the portal can be seen, where in an oval frame there may have been a picture of the Madonna whose name the church bears.

 

3: Parish Church of San Giorgio. Built in the 15th century, choir with fresco "The Last Judgement" by Domenico Pezzi

The church was first mentioned in 1425, when Pope Martin the Fifth decreed its separation from the collegiate church of San Lorenzo in Lugano and elevated it to a parish church. Today it appears essentially the same as in the 16th and 17th centuries. In the last quarter of the 16th century some changes were made to adapt the church to the orders of the Counter-Reformation Council of Trento. The council was concluded in 1563. It was then demanded that church buildings and their works of art radiated special decency and dignity. As a result, during these years the bishop's see gave instructions to renovate the church and to reward various workshops for their work. The official consecration of the church did not take place until 14 May 1698. This was carried out by Francesco Bonesana, Bishop of Como, as the inscription on the architrave of the portal testifies and as it is also confirmed in a document of the episcopal archive in Lugano.

 

4: Fraternity Church of Santa Marta. Built in the Middle Ages, frescoes from 1486.

The church dates from very ancient times and it is thought to be an original Roman building dedicated to St. Paul. At the end of the 17th century the church was rebuilt. The new building was completed in 1709. The church façade on the right shows the remains of a fresco of St. Christopher, who was often depicted as the protector of travellers and pilgrims at churches and chapels, where the visitor immediately saw him.

 

5: Madonna d'Ongero. Built in 17th century stucco by A. Casella 1646-1648, frescoes by Antonio Petrini

The Santuario della Madonna d`Onero is a small masterpiece of Baroque art. The church was built between 1624 and 1640 on the foundations of a small chapel from 1515, which contained a miraculous image of Our Lady of Loreto. This picture was found according to popular belief by a deaf-mute girl, who could speak again immediately afterwards.

Hermann Hesse wrote a story about this church. Click here and read about it:

Feast of the Madonna d'Ongero

Text by Hermann Hesse from 1924

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

6: Convent of Santa Maria Assunta di Torello. Built and donated in 1217 by Bishop Guglielmo della Torre of Como, it is now privately owned. Romantic building with frescos from the 13th century.

The solemn consecration of the church took place in 1217 in the presence of the bishop. Monks of the Augustinian Order moved into the monastery, which soon ruled over vast areas of the surrounding land: in Grancia it had a grain warehouse, and the monastery also had lands in Carabbia, Pazzallo, Figino and Bioggio. This income secured the livelihood of the monastic community. Convention 1389 was abolished by papal decree.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Excerpts from the art guide

"Carona - its artists, its art monuments".

You can buy this art guide in the village

or directly at Pro Carona, the tourist office

on Carona, via email.(info@procarona.ch)

Chiesa Santa Marta 2.jpeg
Chiesa San Salvatore Carona 2.jpg
Chiesa San Salvatore Carona 1.jpg
Madonna d'Ongero Pellegrinaggio.jpg
Madonna d'Ongero 3.jpg
Chiesa parrocchiale di San Giorgio2 Carona.jpg
San Giorgio 3.jpg
Chiesa San Marta2.png
Oratorio Santa Maria Grazie Ciona.jpg
Chiesa Ciona 2.png
Torello.jpeg
Torello 2.jpg
1/14

Die Kirchen von Carona

Rundweg der 6 Kirchen

Carona hat eine reiche Vielfalt von sechs attraktiven Kirchen.

Sehr zu empfehlen ist der „Weg der 6 Kirchen“. Die Route beginnt bei der Pfarrkirche San Salvatore und endet mit dem überraschenden und prächtigen Kloster Santa Maria di Torello.

 

Die Route der 6 Kirchen:

 

1. Die Pfarrkirche San Salvatore

Im Jahr 1213 verkaufte der Bischof von Como seine Güter an Ciona und den Berg, der früher "Bellenio" hieß, an das Domkapitel San Lorenzo in Lugano. Auf der Spitze befand sich bereits eine kleine Kapelle, die S. Salvatore gewidmet war (daher der Name). Es wurde bald in eine kleine Kirche umgewandelt. Anlässlich des Festes Christi Himmelfahrt im Jahr 1680 schenkt das Kapitel von S. Lorenzo die Kirche und den Gipfel der Bruderschaft von S. Marta e Buona Morte. 1703 beschloss die Bruderschaft, die ursprüngliche Kirche abzureißen und eine neue zu bauen. 1718 waren die Arbeiten abgeschlossen. Die Geschichte der letzten zwei Jahrhunderte ist voll von Informationen über die zahlreichen Eingriffe, an denen die Bruderschaft und die Verwaltung der Standseilbahn in ihren jeweiligen Rollen als Eigentümer und Verwalter des Ortes beteiligt waren. Die Standseilbahn wurde 1890 in Betrieb genommen, das Blitzforschungszentrum 1943 und die Installation der Fernseh- und Radioantennen der PTT 1969. Schließlich gründeten die beiden Organisationen 1999 das Museum von San Salvatore und konnten die Bruderschaft bereichern und die Kirche oben verschönern. Im Jahr 1900 die Installation des großen Eisernen Kreuzes, historisches Zeugnis dieses Berges, das ständig von der Seilbahnleitung und der Anwesenheit der Bruderschaft von S. Marta und Buona Morte interpretiert wird.

2. Die Kapelle der Madonna delle Grazie (Ciona). Kapelle aus dem 16. Jahrhundert

Die heute weiß getünchten Fassaden wurden damals gestrichen. Die Dekorationen und Malereien stammen aus den Jahren 1579-1597. Sie waren von Bischof Francesco Bonesana in Auftrag gegeben worden. Die Arbeiten wurden den damaligen Dokumenten zufolge 1597 abgeschlossen. Heute können wir nur noch die Sonnenuhr und eine Stuckverzierung über dem Portal erkennen, wo sich in einem ovalen Rahmen ein Bildnis befinden kann, das wahrscheinlich die Jungfrau Maria darstellte, ein Name, der das ist bringt jetzt die Kapelle.

 

 

3. Die im 15. Jahrhundert erbaute Pfarrkirche San Giorgio mit dem Chorfresko „Das Jüngste Gericht“
von Domenico Pezzi.

Diese Kirche wurde erstmals 1425 erwähnt, als Papst Martin V. ihre Trennung von der Stiftskirche San Lorenzo in Lugano verfügte. Sie erhielt damit den Status einer Pfarrkirche. Heute sieht es mehr oder weniger genauso aus wie im 16. und 17. Jahrhundert. Im letzten Viertel des 16. Jahrhunderts wurden einige Änderungen vorgenommen, um diese Kirche an die Anordnungen der „Gegenreform“ des Konzils von Trient anzupassen. Das Konzil endete 1563. So wurde Kirchen und Kunst ein gewisser Anstand und Würde abverlangt. In diesen Jahren erteilte das Bistum den verschiedenen Gewerken den Auftrag, die Kirche zu renovieren. Die offizielle Weihe der Kirche fand am 14. Mai 1698 durch den Bischof von Como, Francesco Bonesana, statt, wie die Inschrift auf dem Architrav des Portals belegt und ein Dokument des Bischöflichen Archivs von Lugano bestätigt.

4. Die Kirche der Fraternität Santa Marta. Erbaut im Mittelalter, Fresken von 1486

Die Kirche stammt aus sehr alten Zeiten und es wird angenommen, dass die erste Kirche romanisch war und dem heiligen Paulus geweiht war. Ende des 17. Jahrhunderts wurde die Kirche komplett umgebaut. Der Neubau wurde 1709 fertiggestellt. An der rechten Fassade der Kirche entdecken Sie sofort die Reste eines Freskos von San Cristoforo, der oft als Beschützer der Reisenden und Pilger aus allen Kirchen und Kapellen dargestellt wurde.

 

5. Das Heiligtum der Madonna di Ongero aus dem 17. Jahrhundert

Stuckarbeiten von A. Casella 1646-1648, Fresken von Antonio Petrini

Das Heiligtum der Madonna di Ongero ist ein kleines Meisterwerk der Barockkunst. Die Kirche wurde zwischen 1624 und 1640 an der Stelle einer kleinen Kapelle aus dem Jahr 1515 erbaut, die ein außergewöhnliches Bild der Heiligen Jungfrau von Loreto enthält. Dieses Bild repräsentiert den Volksglauben eines taubstummen Mädchens, das auf wundersame Weise wieder sprechen konnte.

Hermann Hesse hat eine Geschichte über diese Kirche geschrieben.

Link zum Originaltext: Madonnafest in der Madonna von Ongero

Deutscher Text von Hermann Hesse geschrieben 1924 "

 

6: Das Kloster Santa Maria Assunta di Torello
1217 vom Bischof von Como, Guglielmo della Torre, erbaut, der es später verkaufte, befindet es sich heute in Privatbesitz. Romanischer Bau mit Fresken aus dem 13. Jahrhundert.

Die Einweihung der Kirche fand 1217 im Beisein des Bischofs statt. Die Mönche des Augustinerordens zogen in das Kloster und herrschten bald über weite Weiten der umliegenden Landschaft: In Grancia besaßen sie einen Getreidespeicher und besaßen auch die Ländereien Carabbia, Pazzallo, Figino und Bioggio. Diese Einnahmen sicherten den Unterhalt der Klostergemeinschaft. 1389 beschloss ein päpstliches Dekret die Aufhebung des Klosters.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Die vorgenannten Texte sind dem Kunstführer entnommen
"Carona - seine Künstler, seine Denkmäler".

Diese Anleitung kann im Fachhandel erworben werden
von Carona, wo Sie es direkt beim Tourismusbüro bestellen können

lokal: Pro Carona (Info@procarona.ch)

Chiesa Santa Marta 2.jpeg
Chiesa San Salvatore Carona 2.jpg
Chiesa San Salvatore Carona 1.jpg
Madonna d'Ongero Pellegrinaggio.jpg
Madonna d'Ongero 3.jpg
Chiesa parrocchiale di San Giorgio2 Carona.jpg
San Giorgio 3.jpg
Chiesa San Marta2.png
Oratorio Santa Maria Grazie Ciona.jpg
Chiesa Ciona 2.png
Torello.jpeg
Torello 2.jpg
1/14